Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Sex in the city - Part Due

Oh, so finally made it back to a computer. I will try to highlight the last few days.

I did go to Pizzeria da Michele in Naples. And that's all I did in Naples - got off the train, walked a few blocks, almost got pickpocketed (but I hide my valuables well), had a conversation in Italian in which I asked and even understood the answer, got pizza and went back to the train station. Didn't want to see anymore of Naples than that.

The pizza...
I sat by a couple Italian guys, one who is home from his job with Carnival Cruise Line. He said that he never misses a visit home without stopping to eat at da Michele. The Korean guy across from me, told me he was there because his guide book told him to be. :) I think I said that I ordered a mozzorella pizza with extra cheese and a beer. €6,50 is about $10. Not bad. Did I cry over the beauty and simplicity of the pie. No. I must really be a food snob. Every guidebook, food and travel critics, plus "Eat Pray Love" says that's it's the end-all-be-all. The crust was chewy, and my pizza making friend Theresa tells me that's not good. The marinara sauce tasted okay, but maybe a little like it came from a can, and the whole thing was a soupy mess -but I liked that part. The cheese was great and the experience was one in a lifetime. Very good, but not the best I've ever had. Clearly Neopolitans disagree. Oh, well. It was fun.

Hum?... I've been flirted with by the old and the young, but no one my age. I suppose sugar daddy or play thing isn't so bad. On the train to Naples I was called a MILF. There was a group of four 17 and one 19 year old boys. They were all fired up and goofing around. Started to talk to me in Italian after I noticed them looking at my necklace - a Lire (the old form of Italian money). At least I thought they were looking at my necklace. They were cracking me up. Just a bunch of young cuties with their arms wrapped around each other. So funny how you'd never see American boys do that. Once we finally established that I don't speak Italian (but I could understand a lot of what they were saying), they asked me if I knew what a MILF is. I told them that I did know, and NO I am not going to say it. Well we bantered back and forth for a while and when they left, the instigator of the group said "Bye MILF." I'll take it.

1 comment:

  1. LOL! Thanks for the mention! and you're right, chewy crust isn't a good thing, but really it's the experience that one needs to savor! and you did and that is all the reason necessary to enjoy the soupy pizza...you hot mama you!!

    ReplyDelete